Google Stadia is launching on November 19

Google has just announced during its Made by Google ’19 event that its Stadia cloud gaming service would be launching in select markets on November 19. The service will go live on 9AM PST/5PM BST/6PM CET for consumers who pre-ordered the Stadia Founder’s Edition or the Stadia Premiere Edition, which both include three free months of Stadia Pro with access to Destiny 2: The Collection.

A little more than 40 games will be available to purchase separately at launch, including Red Dead Redemption 2, Mortal Kombat 11, Borderlands 3, Assassin’s Creed Odyssey, Metro: Exodus, Wolfenstein: Youngblood, and more. You can check out the full list of games on the official Stadia website, though pricing details are not available yet.

Unlike the public preview for Microsoft’s Project xCloud service, which is currently only available on Android phones, Google Stadia will be cross-platform and work on your TV, laptop, desktop, and select tablets and phones.

It’s interesting to see Google launching its cloud gaming offering before Microsoft, and Stadia is actually the first next-gen gaming platform with support for 4K graphics at 60FPS with a Stadia Pro subscription. You’ll need a solid Internet connection to reach this level of performance, as Google recommends a minimum of 35Mb/s to enjoy Stadia games in their full glory.

Share This
Further reading: , ,