The privacy-focused communication app, Telegram, updated on most of its major supported platforms this week and added even more security settings to help creators control how their content is seen and shared.
Creators will now be able to limit how group content is saved or forwarded while new bulk-delete options have been added for one-on-on chats. A variety of new admin features have also been added.
“With this update, we're helping creators protect the content they publish on Telegram and ensure that it is available only for their intended audience,” an official Telegram blog post explains. “Group and Channel owners who want to keep their content members-only can restrict message forwarding from their chat, which also prevents screenshots and limits the ability to save media from posts.”
Here’s the full release notes for the Telegram Windows app update:
PROTECTED CONTENT, DELETE BY DATE, ANONYMOUS POSTING AND MORE
- Content creators can restrict the ability to save media and forward messages from their groups and channels.
- Clear messages in one-on-one chats from a specific day or date range.
- Comment as one of your channels in public groups and channel comments.
- When you request to join a community and its admin or bot-admin contacts you with a message, you will see which chat they are from at the top of the chat.
- Bot-admins can now ask users to complete tasks before they are allowed to join – like accepting community rules, passing a test, or making a donation to the content creators.
Telegram started out as a privacy-focuses text messaging app but has since evolved into a comprehensive communications platform with full support for voice and video calls, groups, public feeds, and even livestreaming.