Rise of the Tomb Raider's multiplayer modes revealed

Posted in:

One of the biggest games of 2015, Rise of the Tomb Raider, is now available for digital pre-order on Xbox One with a couple of different packages to choose from.
The Standard Edition of the game will be available for purchase after the official launch day on the 10th of November 2015 but those wanting to reserve their copy now and pre-download the game on their Xbox One so they can play the game as quickly as possible on launch day can buy it as part of the Rise of the Tomb Raider Pre-Order Edition which sells for the same price and comes with bonus content called the Remnant Resistance Pack. The Remnant Resistance Pack features an alternate outfit for Lara (which grants her the ability to bandage without using her resources), several animal skins, some armour, the Matte Ebony Magnum Skin, and a rare Bullet Resistance foil card which makes Lara extra resistant to gunfire.

The special Rise of the Tomb Raider Deluxe Edition contains the same Remnant Resistance Pack from the Pre-Order Edition as well as a season pass for future downloadable content. While specific information on future content has yet to be revealed, Rise of the Tomb Raider’s Creative Director Noah Hughes recently revealed that there would be three main extra modes coming after launch; Endurance Mode, Baba Yaga: The Temple of the Witch, and Cold Darkness Awakened.
Cold Darkness Awakened will apparently pit Lara Croft against numerous waves of infected predators while Baba Yaga: The Temple of the Witch features a new tomb to explore and Endurance Mode will provide a tougher survival game mode for players looking for more of a challenge. Noah Hughes also promised “a steady stream of outfits, weapons, and Expedition Cards beginning on Day 1 and continuing over four months” after the game’s launch though it was unclear if some of these would be part of the Season Pass or require separate purchases.
A question many fans had been wondering about was how Rise of the Tomb Raider would implement multiplayer. The first new Tomb Raider game featured a full multiplayer battle arena-type mode but it looks like Rise of the Tomb Raider will be doing something rather different and offer more of an indirect multiplayer connection with two different modes.
The first game mode with multiplayer connectivity will be Score Attack which lets players replay levels from the game with a new customized rules. Players play to get the best time and earn medals while using chained attacks, movements, and collectibles to get score multipliers.
The second mode is called, Remnant Resistance. Remnant Resistance actually allows players to create their own missions with a unique set of goals and settings and challenge friends and the wider community to complete them. This mode will support the new Expedition Cards which grant certain abilities, power-ups, or visual customizations while activated. These cards can be won in-game, purchased with credits, or bought with real-world money and cannot be used in the main solo-player campaign. Special foil cards are super powerful and can be used while the regular cards expire after one usage.
There is also an extra solo-player mode called, Chapter Replay which lets the player replay chapters from the main campaign with the use of all the power-ups and upgrades received in other levels.
All of these modes definitely look to be bringing something extra to the Tomb Raider franchise which has traditionally been a solo-player experience. Which one of these modes (if any) excite you the most and will you be pre-ordering the game to get the extra content? Let us know in the comments below.
Buy Rise of the Tomb Raider on Xbox One

< Previous

Nvidia brings new Game Ready GeForce 358.50 WHQL driver to Star Wars Battlefront beta players

Microsoft's Lumia 950XL won't be coming to Rogers anytime soon

Next >