Google has implemented a new policy on how the company handles its user profiles. Begining July 31st, those who have created a private profile will be deleted by Google unless the profile is made public.
Google, without a shadow of a doubt, is trying to become more Web 2.0 and social with the recent launch of Google+. But now, a new policy that forces users who prefer to have a private profile to go public, causes a major concern.
“The purpose of Google Profiles is to enable you to manage your online identity. Today, nearly all Google Profiles are public. We believe that using Google Profiles to help people find and connect with you online is how the product is best used. Private profiles don’t allow this, so we have decided to require all profiles to be public,” Google stated.
As The Register reports, Google only wants a user’s full name and gender to be displayed on the public profile. All other information can be edited or deleted, but not hidden. “If you currently have a private profile but you do not wish to make your profile public, you can delete your profile. Or, you can simply do nothing. All private profiles will be deleted after July 31, 2011,” Google stated. Ouch!
The bottom line? Those wishing to use the new Google+ will be required to have a public profile with their full name and gender displayed. This is to “increase trust among participants within the social network.”
Thanks to Anthony for the news tip!Further reading: Google, Security