8 stories
today

Clutter for Office 365 aims to help keep your inbox clean, rolls out for Business users

Clutter for Office 365 shows what's important in your email, rolls out for Business users

Microsoft has announced Clutter for Office 365, which aims to clean up your inbox using the Office Graph. In case you don’t recall, Microsoft introduced this feature back in May, but didn’t give out any exact availability date. It’s now rolling out, but at the moment, only business users can make use of this feature.

It uses machine learning techniques to move less important emails to the Clutter folder, showing you what’s important based on your past actions. The most notable feature is it gets smarter as time passes by, learning from your actions with emails, and the way you’re addressed in them. You can also let Clutter know what’s important for you. The way Clutter sort your emails is personalized for every user, and adapts to the way you treat your emails so you don’t have to go through the hassle of removing junk from your email. 

“Clutter learns from your actions to determine the messages you are likely to ignore. As less important messages arrive, they are automatically moved to the Clutter folder. Clutter does this by leveraging Office Graph’s sophisticated machine learning techniques to determine which messages are Clutter.” Microsoft said in a blog post. “It gets smarter over time, learning from your prior actions with similar messages, and assessing things like the type of content and even how you are addressed in the message. The Clutter experience is personalized to each individual and reflects an email experience that adapts to your actions and preferences without you having to do anything.”

This doesn’t mean the emails will be deleted, but they are moved to the Clutter folder, just in case you want to take a look at it and see that important emails are not marked as Clutter. The feature can be used on Outlook Web App (OWA), Outlook and even on mobile devices as well.

The feature is disabled by default, but you can enable it as soon as its available for your account. If you don’t like it, you can disable it whenever you want. Microsoft mentioned the customers who opted for the First Release will see the feature today, and will also roll out “to those using the English locale, other languages will follow as localization is complete.” Check out the video below to know how the feature will work.

Further reading: , , ,